Today, I am going to clear up two questions I receive about the HIV/AIDS course requirement for Florida Massage Therapists.
1. Since the 1 hour HIV/AIDS course is no longer required for license renewal, is it still required for those applying for their Florida Massage License?
2. I already have taken a 3 hour HIV/AIDS course during massage school, or as part of my license renewal in another state, do I need to take it again?
HIV/AIDS requirement for license renewal vs initial licensure
As of July 1st, 2012, Florida massage therapists are no longer required to complete a minimum one hour HIV/AIDS continuing education course per biennial renewal.
This rule change has led to a few questions from people seeking a license about whether an HIV/AIDS course is still required for obtaining a Florida massage license.
As of right now, a 3 hour HIV/AIDS course is still required for initial licensure by the Massage Board. This includes those graduating from massage school, transferring a license to Florida from another state, or that are completing a board approved apprenticeship.
The 3 hour HIV/AIDS course must be completed in addition to 10 hours of Florida Massage Law and Rules and 2 hours of Prevention of Medical Errors.
These three required courses are available as a package here.
Seeking a Florida license and have previously taken an HIV/AIDS course?
For those of you that have already completed an HIV/AIDS course in massage school or as part of your license renewal in another state, the Florida Board of Massage website states:
“Proof of completion of a three (3) hour HIV/AIDS course taken from a Florida Board approved massage therapy school or a Florida Board approved continuing education provider.”
The last part of that sentence is really important.
The HIV/AIDS course (and all other required courses) must be from a Florida board-approved school or a Florida board-approved continuing education provider.
HIV/AIDS education is commonly included as part of basic massage training curriculum. Some states, such as Maryland, require a 3 hour HIV/AIDS course every license renewal.
Those who have completed the HIV/AIDS requirement in another state sometimes assume they only need to complete the remaining two courses (10 hour Florida law and 2 Hour Prevention of Medical Errors).
Weeks later they get excited to see a letter from the Florida Board of Massage assuming it is their license. Then they open it only to find a letter from the Board stating their HIV/AIDS course from their school or continuing education was not from a Florida board-approved provider.
They are instructed to submit proof completion from an approved provider before their license is issued.
I recommend that if you have taken an HIV/AIDS course previously, verify that it was from a Florida Approved provider. You can verify Florida-approved providers at cebroker.com (My provider number is #50-11905).
If you purchase the Florida licensing package I have available, I suggest you complete all three courses in the package to be safe. The HIV/AIDS course is actually free with the package.
As always, please let me know if you have any questions!