The Florida Board of Massage requires a 2 hour Prevention of Medical Errors course for massage professionals in two situations:
1. A Licensee’s first massage license renewal
2. Every subsequent biennial renewal period
This course must be taken from a school or continuing education provider that is approved by the Florida Board of Massage. You can check CE Broker to verify an approved provider (My approved provider number is #50-11905).
A Prevention of Medical Errors course is accompanied by other requirements and courses, depending on the licensee’s or applicant’s situation listed above.
Obtaining a Massage License
As of 2017, those applying to get a license in Florida are no longer required to complete this course according to the Florida Board of Massage website. The HIV course requirement has also been removed from the board website and application. The only listed requirement is to complete 10 hours of Florida Massage Law and Rules. The HIV course requirement has also been removed from the board website and application.
For more information about this process and the course needed to transfer a license to Florida, click here.
A Licensee’s First Massage License Renewal
After you receive your massage license, the only course you are required to complete for your first renewal is a 2-hour Prevention of Medical Errors course. This course is required along with 1 hour of continuing education for every month you have been licensed.
Every Subsequent Biennial Renewal Period
After your first renewal, a 2-hour Prevention of Medical Errors course is required every two years for the biennial renewal (8/31/2019, 8/31/2021). Other courses required for your second renewal, and every subsequent renewal include: 2 hour Florida Massage Law and Rules update, and 2 hours of Professional Ethics. These courses count towards the 24-hour continuing education requirement. The 1 hour HIV course is no longer required for license renewal.
Ready to complete this requirement? You can take my 2 Hour Prevention of Medical Errors for only $10.00 using the link Below. Credits will be posted to CE Broker within 24 hours.
For more information about renewing your Florida massage license and the other required courses, click here.
If you have any questions about Prevention of Medical Errors, or the Florida licensing or renewal process, let me know in the comments below!