Today, I am going to clear up a few questions I receive about the HIV/AIDS course requirement for Florida Massage Therapists and from those seeking a license from the Florida Cosmetology or Barber Board.
Is a 1-hour HIV/AIDS course required for renewing my Florida massage license?
No, 1 hour HIV/AIDS course is no longer required for license renewal.
Since of July 1st, 2012, Florida massage therapists are no longer required to complete a minimum one hour HIV/AIDS continuing education course per biennial renewal.
This rule change has led to a few questions from people seeking a license about whether an HIV/AIDS course is still required for obtaining a Florida massage license.
Is a 3 hour HIV/AIDS still required for those applying for their Florida Massage License?
As of 2016, a 3 hour HIV/AIDS course is still now NO LONGER required for initial licensure by the Massage Board. Prevention of medical errors is also (as of 2017 no longer required for obtaining a Florida massage license. However, it is still required for license renewal.
Only 10 hours of Florida Massage Law and Rules are required for new Floridamassage license applicants.
The 10 hour Florida Law and Rules course can be purchased and taken online here.
I am a cosmetologist, esthetician, nail tech, or barber and am moving to Florida. Which HIV course do I need?
Cosmetologists (hairstylists), facial specialists (estheticians), nail specialists (nail technicians), and full specialists (nail and facial) are required to complete a Florida Cosmetology board-approved 4-hour HIV course to get licensed or registered in Florida. It must be approved by the Florida Barber Board.
Here is our Florida Cosmetology Board-Approved 4 Hour HIV Course Online.
Cosmetologists (hairstylists), facial specialists (estheticians), nail specialists (nail technicians), and full specialists (nail and facial) are required to complete a Florida Cosmetology board-approved 4-hour HIV course to get licensed or registered in Florida. It must be approved by the Florida Cosmetology Board.
Here is our Florida Cosmetology Board-Approved 4-Hour HIV Course Online.
Barbers are required to complete a Florida Barber board-approved 2-hour HIV course to get licensed Florida. It must be approved by the Florida Barber Board.
Here is our Florida Barber Board-Approved 2-Hour HIV Course Online.
As always, please let me know if you have any questions!
I need 4 FL approved HIV/AIDS ceu’s inorder to process my application/renewal of a null or void “Facial Specialist” license. Can you help?
Thank you for any suggestions.
Hi Tim! I am not familiar with aesthetic licenses law and rules in FL. I do not believe estheticians (sp?) are license under the MQA like LMTs. So, this means you can not search for classes on CEBroker. I did find this site upon searching – http://www.flceo.com/. Does that help?
I attended MT school in NY for one semester but since the program is way too expensive and too long, over 1000 hrs (tones of theory and not much practice, which is frustrating), I started to consider other options somewhere else and Florida seems to be convenient. How is it to be a LMT there? in terms of quality of training and jobs. Please help me to have a general idea.
In all honesty, I have a FL license, but do not practice there. I practice in Iowa only, at this time. From what I hear from all my FL colleagues is the same as any other state. Some have found dream jobs, some are just happy to be warm, some are struggling with their business and others have more business than they know what to do with. It really depends on the person. I wish I had a better answer.