There are currently about 11,000 massage establishment licenses in Florida, and all 11,000 of these massage establishments need to be renewed by August 31st, 2015. This is the same renewal deadline for all 36,000+ massage therapy licenses in Florida.
If you own a massage establishment, it is essential to keep up to date on changes in the massage profession in order to keep your massage business in good standing with the Board of Massage and the Department of Health.
If you work in a massage establishment, you also need know the current status of the establishment you work in to avoid possible fines from the Board of Massage.
There have been a few requirement changes for licensed massage therapists and establishments since the last renewal. The first change affected licensed massage therapists and massage establishment owners.
Since July 1st, 2014 all newly licensed massage therapists and new establishment owners have been required to submit fingerprints. All other previously licensed massage therapists and establishment owners had until January 31st, 2015 to submit fingerprints. If you have not completed this requirement, you will not be permitted to renew until the board office obtains the required information. I have more details on this law change here.
A new law pertaining to business hours of massage establishments took effect October 1, 2013. House bill 7005 prohibits the operation of massage establishments between the hours of midnight and 5:00 AM. Exemptions apply to: health care facilities, hotels, timeshares, and airports if the massage is performed under a medical prescription.
The new law also states that a massage establishment cannot be used as a primary residence unless it is zoned for residential use.
Chiropractors Employing Licensed Massage Therapists
As of July 1st, 2014 licensed massage therapists employed by chiropractors do not need a massage establishment license. Independent contractors or renters (this indicates you are not an employee) still need a massage establishment license.
Photo Required To Be With Displayed Massage Therapy License
Effective on August 1, 2012, all initial licenses or duplicate licenses issued must attach a 2 inch by 2 inch photograph of the individual to the displayed massage therapy license. The photo must have been taken within the previous two years (See: 64B7-28.008 1[a]). If it has been two years since you have attached a photo, it is time to replace the photo with a more current one.
Massage Establishment Renewal Fees
The renewal fee for renewing a Massage Establishment license has not changed. The fee is $105 for two years. The fee for renewing a massage therapy license is also $105.
Ready to renew?
To renew your establishment, or massage therapy license, visit the Florida Board of Massage website.
A special message for those employed in a Florida Massage Establishment:
If you are employed at a Florida massage establishment, verify that the owner has a valid massage establishment license. The license should be clearly displayed with the most recent renewal paper.
There are hefty fines for the establishment and therapist if the Department of Health finds a massage business without a massage establishment license. At Board meetings, the massage therapist is often fined more than the establishment. I would hate to see a massage therapist pay a fine because of the oversight of an employer.
You can visit the Board of Massage website to check on the current license status of a massage establishment.
Photo Credit: judemasti