The Georgia Board of Massage Therapy was established in May of 2005 in an effort to protect the public from unqualified massage practitioners. The new Board established minimum educational requirements (500 hours) and approved massage licensing exams. The establishment of this Board and education requirements is helpful for massage therapists who want, or need, to move and apply for a massage license in another state.
For massage therapists moving to Georgia’s Southern neighbor, Florida, this blog will guide you all the way through the Florida licensing process. To set you on the right path I first have a few questions to ask you.
Have you completed 500 hours of massage education?
No. If you do not have 500 hours of education, you will need to complete this minimum education requirement before proceeding. Florida has strict guidelines about this requirement. They do accept any applicants with less than 500 hours of massage training. Contact the Florida Board of Massage to learn more about completing your 500 hours of education.
Yes. 500 hours is equal to the minimum requirement for Florida Massage License applicants. Time for another question.
Have you passed the NCETMB, NCETM, or the MBLEx?
No. You are required to complete one of the above exams before Florida will issue a massage license to you.
Yes. Awesome! All of Georgia’s approved massage licensing exams are approved exams in Florida. I have one last question (I promise).
Do you have an active Georgia Massage license?
Yes. This is the best case senario. You are an endorsement candidate. You can get started on your 10 hour Florida Massage Laws and Rules course next. It comes with a step-by-step guide and checklist.
No. If you had a massage license recently, but let it lapse, or you never applied to the Georgia Board after completing 500 hours of training and taking a board-approved licensing exam, you are an examination candidate. Don’t worry, you do not need to take an exam again, It is just an important checkmark on your application. You can get started on your 10 hour Florida Massage Laws and Rules course next.
***On a side note. I have seen on another Florida CE provider website claim that Georgia is the only state to require licensed massage professionals to maintain their NCTMB credential. This is not true. Georgia also accepts the MBLEx as an approved licensing exam.
Please leave a comment below if you need clarification on something or have a more specific question. I’d be happy to help!
You may also send me an email: [email protected].