Illinois Sexual Harassment Prevention$10
1 CE Hours
Ready to Renew your Illinois Massage License?
All Illinois massage therapists share the exact same renewal deadline, December 31st of every even-numbered year. That means the next Illinois massage license renewal deadline is December 31st, 2022.
During the last renewal deadline in 2020, we were all in the early months of the pandemic and there were a few changes to the renewal requirements. These changes often lead to lots of confusion and anxiety as the renewal deadline nears.
We want to remove that confusion and anxiety for you. Let’s cover the renewal requirements so you can get your license renewed and back to your clients.
How many hours am I required to take this renewal?
First Renewals Only
If this is your first license renewal, you are not required to comply with the CE requirements. Here is the rule pertaining to first renewals:
Section 1284.90 Continuing Education
5) A renewal applicant shall not be required to comply with CE requirements for the first renewal of an Illinois license.
2nd or Subsequent Renewal
IF this is not your first renewal, Section 1284.90 Continuing Education says:
Continuing Education Hours Requirements
1) Beginning with the December 31, 2008 renewal and every renewal thereafter, in order to renew a license, a licensee shall be required to complete 24 hours of continuing education, including at least 2 hours of ethics.
The complete continuing education hour requirements for Illinois massage license renewals can be found in Section 1284.90. You should always be familiar with the most current license renewal requirements.
What courses am I required to take for my Illinois massage license renewal?
Of your twenty-four hours, there are two required courses.
- Ethics (2 hours)
- Sexual Harassment Awareness Prevention (1 hour)
Here is a little more about each course requirement.
Ethics Course (2 hours)
If you read the above question, it says… that your 24 hours must include… “ at least 2 hours of ethics”
Ethics is a broad term. But generally refers to roles and boundaries, communication, or any professionalism course.
Sexual Harassment Awareness Prevention Course (1 hour)
In 2019, a new law passed in Illinois (Public Act 100-0762) requires individuals with licenses issued by IFDPR that require continuing education, or CE, to renew their license also complete 1 hour of continuing education pertaining to sexual harassment prevention This requirement went into effect January 1, 2020.
Here is an information sheet on the sexual harassment prevention training for the IDFPR that should answer many of your questions.
Sexual Harassment CE Information Sheet from the IDFPR
Where can I find an approved sexual harassment prevention training course?
Licensees can take this CE course from any CE provider or sponsor with an ‘Active’ CE provider license issued by IDFPR. (Be sure the CE provider license number appears on the Certificate.)
A course from an ‘Active’ CE provider license issued by IDFPR, such as a massage CE sponsor, should be acceptable to another profession regulated by the IDFPR. Make sure your provider has an active CE provider license issued by the IDFPR for this course.
Does the sexual harassment prevention training count towards my continuing education hours?
The above sheet states that it does not add CE hours for your renewal and that “the sexual harassment prevention training CE requirement can be included in the number of CE hours already required for your profession”. If the massage profession currently requires 24 hours of CE for renewal, it does not mean you now need to complete 25 hours.
I have a massage license and a cosmetology license. Can I use the course for multiple license renewals?
The IDFPR information sheet states that you can use one course for multiple licenses. If you have both a massage license and a cosmetology license, you can apply it to both licenses.
Is this a one time requirement, or will it be required for each renewal?
For now, it appears this will be a requirement for each renewal cycle.
I do not need CE for my first renewal, do I need to complete this course?
The information sheet states, “If this is the first time you are renewing a license, you do not have to complete sexual harassment prevention training CE.”
Is there a requirement for live hours this renewal?
In 2020, the state waived the requirement for 12 live hours due to the COVID pandemic.
For 2022, it appears they are again allowing ALL 24 continuing education hours can be completed in a self-study format.
However, if you want, you are still allowed to obtain courses in this format. You just are not required to complete live, in-person trainings.
Can I view the Emergency Order for allowing all 24 hours to be self-study?
Yes! Here is the link to the entire Emergency Order. The language in it is below.
Heading of the Part: Massage Licensing Act
2) Code Citation: 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1284
3) Section Number: Proposed Action:
4) Statutory Authority: Implementing the Massage Licensing Act [225 ILCS 57] and authorized by Section 2105-15(7) of the Civil Administrative Code of Illinois [20 ILCS2105/2105-15(7)].
5) A Complete Description of the Subjects and Issues Involved: In light of the COVID-19 public health crisis, the Department is concerned about maintaining the health and safety of its licensees. In order to promote social distancing and reduce the risk of virus transmission, the Department wants to allow licensees with in-person continuing education (CE) requirements to be able to earn those CE credits online. The proposed amendment allows all CE credit hours to be earned remotely. Currently, CE credits must be earned in-person unless otherwise specified. The proposed amendment also specifies that online classes are permissible to fulfill licensed massage therapists’ CE requirement.
Also, here is the continuing education rule which does not indicate a live requirement Section 1284.90 Continuing Education
b) Approved Continuing Education (CE)
1) CE hours shall be earned by verified attendance at (e.g., certificate of attendance or certificate of completion) or participation in a program or course (program) that is offered or sponsored by an approved continuing education sponsor;
2) All 24 hours of CE credit per renewal may be earned as follows:
A) For completion of a self-study course that is offered by an approved sponsor who meets the requirements set forth in subsection (c). Each self-study course shall include an examination.
B) Credit may be earned for papers prepared and delivered before recognized massage therapy organizations; papers published in nationally recognized massage therapy journals; or a chapter published in a book on massage therapy, each appropriately verified.
C) First time presentation of an academic course or workshop, seminar, in-service, electronic or Web-based course. Speeches made at luncheons or banquets or any other presentation not within the guidelines of this Section are not eligible for CE credit.
How do I find an approved massage CE sponsor or program?
There are a few options. You can use an Illinois board-approved sponsor, a provider approved by the NCBTMB, AMTA, accredited schools, or those approved directly by the Illinois massage board. Here is the list from Section 1284.90 Continuing Education:
c) Approved CE Sponsors and Programs
1) Sponsor shall mean:
A) Entities approved by the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCBTMB);
B) The American Massage Therapy Association (AMTA) and its chapters;
C) Any approved massage therapy program or accredited school, college, university or State agency; and
D) Any other person, firm, or association that has been approved and licensed by the Division pursuant to subsection (c)(2) to coordinate and present continuing education courses and programs in conjunction with this Section.
List of Illinois Massage Board Sponsors/ CE Providers
After You Complete Your CE Hours…
Log in to your account on the IDFPR website and pay your renewal fee. The current fee is $175 for massage licenses.
To renew your license, visit the Illinois Board of Massage website (IDFPR or Illinois Department of Financial & Professional Regulation).
Do you report my hours or course to the Illinois massage board or IDFPR?
No, Illinois does not have a continuing education reporting system at this time. Keep copies of your certificates in case that you are audited at the time of your renewal.
Are you an approved sponsor for the Illinois massage board?
What is your Illinois Massage Sponsor or Provider number?
Do you offer an approved sexual harassment course?
Yes, we offer a Sexual Harassment Prevention Training
Do you have a package for all 24 CE hours?
We plan to offer various Illinois renewal packages.
Still Have Questions About Renewing Your Illinois Massage License?
Let us know! We will try our best to get you the answers. You can also contact the Board office using the below link.
Illinois Board of Massage Contact Information (IDFPR)