If you are considering getting a Florida massage license, you may wonder how much it potentially will to cost to obtain and renew a massage license. The truth is that cost will vary depending on your situation. You will incur different costs due to different fees charged by your state, school, and whether you plan to own a business or work as an employee in Florida. Below is a list of the fees you will or may incur so you can budget accordingly.
Application and Initial License Costs
All applicants will incur the following costs:
- Application for a Florida massage license: $155
- MBLEx or NCETMB score report request: $20 – $25
- School Transcript sent to the Florida Board of Massage Office: $5-$50
- FDLE Board-Approved Fingerprints: $85-$100
- 10-hour massage law and rules course: $69 (View course here)
- State license verification (if currently licensed, or previously licensed, in another state) : $20-$100
Total Licensing Costs: $350-$500
Additional costs to consider for special circumstances:
If you have not passed a Florida board approved exam (NCETMB, NCETM, NESL, or MBLEx) you will need to take the MBLEx. Cost: MBLEx is $195 per attempt
If your massage school transcript is not in English, it will need to be translated for the Board of Massage. Cost: Varies
If you need to hire a lawyer due to prior convictions, or other legal advice and representation. Cost: Varies
If you are deficient in certain educational areas, you may need to go to school for additional training. Cost: Varies
Massage License Renewal Costs
The following are costs associated with keeping your Florida license active and clear.
The license renewal cost for the 2017 renewal was $105, but this fee may increase for the 2019 renewal.
The massage license renewal fee is paid every 2 years. It is due every August 31st in an odd-numbered year (2019, 2021, 2023). If you are licensed during a renewal year (within 90 days of the renewal), your renewal hours and fees may be waived (read more here).
Cost of 24 board-approved CE (every 2 years) – Varies
Massage Establishment License
Almost any premise where massage takes place in Florida is required to have a Massage Establishment license.
If you plan to have your own massage business, you will need a massage establishment license in addition to your massage therapy, or MA, license. This includes renting a room in a salon, chiropractic clinic, or health center.
Be sure to ask when looking for potential rooms, offices, or business locations about a massage establishment, or MM, license. They may have one already, and it should be posted if they do.
The cost of massage establishment application, license, and inspection fee $255.
Proof of property damage and bodily injury liability insurance is required for an establishment license. If you have professional liability insurance through AMTA, ABMP, FSMTA, or Massage Mag, make sure you add property damage to your policy if it is not included.
The massage establishment license renewal fee was $105 in 2017, but may increase for 2019. The massage establishment renewal fee is paid every 2 years. It is due every August 31st every odd-numbered year (2019, 2021, 2023).
Most mobile massage businesses do not need a massage establishment license.
Other Business License Costs
This includes other city, county, or occupational, or business tax licenses massage business owners may need. Each location varies in cost and requirements.
Example: Miami Dade County
Establishments are instructed to contact the Florida Department of Health for a Massage Establishment license
Example: Titusville (City in Brevard County)
Legal business setup for business owners
Filing an LLC
Cost: Filing an LLC in Florida is $125 (Link)
Fictitious Name Registration
Cost :$50 (Link)
A fictitious name is commonly referred to as a “DBA”, an acronym for “doing business as.” This is needed for any business in the state which is different than your true name, unless you registered for an LLC or incorporate your business. For example: using “Anna Maria Massage” instead of Ivy Hultquist, L.M.T.
I am sure you are looking forward to your new life in the Sunshine State. If you have any questions, let me know. I have helped over 1000 people make this professional move and look forward to helping you too.
As with any bureaucratic process, it is better to get the licensing process started as soon as possible, just in case you hit any bumps along the way. I’ve seen people get stuck at certain steps because they were not prepared for additional fees and watched others spend money on the wrong services (e.g. Do not get your fingerprints done at a police station). Both of these problems may lead to significant delays in the licensing process. These delays can especially stressful if you have a job being held for you in Florida.
If you are ready to begin the licensing process now, check out the chart on the Florida licensing package. The package includes a checklist to guide you through all the licensing steps, links to the course you need, and access to personal email support from me during the process.