Are you considering a career in massage therapy in Florida and do not know the regulations or requirements?
Are you a massage therapist in another state moving to Florida and need to get a license there?
Maybe you have visited the Florida Board of Massage website, or a few websites of massage schools you are considering attending, and you need help figuring out the requirements, or your next step.
I am a licensed massage therapist in Florida and Florida Board-Approved continuing education provider that specializes in helping people with the licensing and renewal process.
I think I can help answer your questions, and get you started on the right path to help you meet your goals.
Here we go.
3 Routes to Licensure
First, Massage therapy is regulated in Florida by the Department of Health. Unless you have a license from the Florida Department of Health, you may not offer any massage services in the state of Florida.
So, how do you get a Florida massage license? There are three basic routes to licensure in Florida: Examination, Endorsement, and Apprenticeship.
This is the most common route for those attending school in Florida.
Applicants will need to show proof of attending a Florida Board Approved Massage School, or a massage school approved in their state (500-hour minimum), and pass a Florida Massage Board-Approved examination (MBLEx, NCETMB, NCETM, NESL).
For more information on massage licensing exams: MBLEx vs NCETMB
This is the most common route for those moving to Florida and went to school out-of-state.
If you attended a 500+ hour massage therapy school, hold a massage therapy license in another state, and have completed a licensing exam, such as the MBLEx, NCETMB, or NYS state exam – this route is probably for you!
I received my license this way, and each week I help many people with the process of transferring their massage license to Florida from another state.
The endorsement process can be confusing. On my Florida endorsement page, I offer a checklist and licensing guide to streamline the process, and I also cover unique questions and special situations.
Florida is unique in that it allows massage therapists to train through a Board-approved apprenticeship program.
This route has some flexibility and benefits as a route to licensure, but typically involves a much longer time commitment (12-24 months).
One advantage is that you will have plenty of hands-on experience upon completion of the program.
After years of rumors and speculation, the apprenticeship route may be going away soon. In 2020, a bill to eliminate this route to licensure was proposed. If you plan to use this route, I suggest you contact the board of massage before beginning an apprenticeship program in Florida.
You will need to have your massage exam scores sent to the Florida Board of Massage if you did not already do so at the time of your exam:
NCETM, NCETMB, Or NESL (NCBTMB) (You will need to obtain login information from the NCBTMB to access this form)
Required CE Courses
Applicants will need to show proof of completion of (10 Hours Florida Law and Rules) from a Florida Board-approved provider if not completed during massage training.
Step-By-Step Licensing Checklist
I’ve added a FREE step-by-step checklist to my 10 Hour Florida Law Course to help you avoid confusion and headaches during the application process.
What happens after you apply for a license?
After you apply for your massage therapy license, you will receive a Florida File Number.
After the Florida Board of Massage receives your school transcript, your exam scores, and any other materials you may need to provide, the Florida Board of Massage will automatically issue your license.
Contact the Florida Board of Massage Therapy
Florida Department of Health
Board of Massage Therapy
4052 Bald Cypress Way, BIN #C-06
Tallahassee, FL 32399-3257
If you have a more specific question, or need clarification on something, let me know in the comments below!
You can also send me an email, [email protected]