At the October 2017 meeting, the Florida Board of Massage ruled that the NYS Massage Exam would now be accepted as an equivalent exam. This is a big change for those of you looking to transfer an NYS massage license to Florida.
NYS transfer applicants with valid NYS massage licenses are now endorsement candidates. This means you do not need to take the MBLEx to get your Florida massage license. However, there are a few other requirements you need to complete. This post has been updated to reflect this exciting change for many of you!
Looking for the required 10-hour Florida Massage Laws and Rules course and my step-by-step checklist to get your Florida Massage License? Click here to get started on the 10-hour Florida Massage Laws and Rules Course.
Want to learn more about transferring your license from NYS first, then keep reading.
Why This is Such Good News
Compared to most other massage therapists, New York massage therapists looking to relocate to Florida used to encounter an extra step in the transfer process. This was an extra step no massage therapist really wants to take. The thought of taking another licensing exam years after completing massage school was enough to keep many qualified NYS LMTs from even applying for a Florida license.
New York State is one of the few remaining states that still administers its own state massage licensing examination. Any massage therapist that leaves the state of New York usually finds out pretty quickly that having your own state exam can be a problem for reciprocity and license portability. This problem was certainly true for those moving to Florida until 2017.
The New York State Massage Therapy Exam (or any other state massage licensing exam) was not an approved licensing exam for obtaining a Florida massage license before October 2017. Before qualifying for a Florida massage license, NYS licensees were required to pass a Florida Board-Approved Examination (MBLEx, NCETMB, NCETM, or the NESL) in order to get a Florida massage license.
Now that this extra step is no longer required, the process is easier. However, it is still an unfamiliar process for most of you.
Ready to Begin the Process?
Again, if you are looking for the 10-hour Florida Massage Laws and Rules course and my step-by-step checklist to get your Florida Massage License, click here to complete that requirement. This checklist and guide will help you through the entire process and make your move a little less chaotic. I have included specific links in the checklist and guide for NYS applicants to contact the NYS Board for the required license verification form.
Don’t Make These Two Mistakes
I have two final (and very important) tips for NYS licensees to help you avoid frustration and delays.
#1 – Have an Active License
If your NYS massage license is not active, you need to make it active before you apply to Florida. A license must be active for an applicant to qualify by endorsement.
#2 – Apply By Endorsement
Make sure you apply as an endorsement candidate. Since you now took an exam that is now accepted to get your NYS massage license, you are no longer an examination candidate. If you choose examination candidate on your application you will encounter a delay in your license being issued.
Do you have more questions about your unique situation? You can email me at [email protected].
I would be happy to help!
Do You Have A Dual License?
If you have cosmetologist, nail specialist (manicurist), or facial specialist (esthetician) license to transfer to Florida, you can learn more about that process and purchase the Florida Board of Cosmetology Approved Initial 4-hour HIV/AIDS course we have available on a separate website here.