In January of 2005, the Illinois Massage Licensing Act went into effect. This act required applicants to complete 500 hours of education and pass the National Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCETMB). Since then, the MBLEx was also added as an approved licensing examination and is now the only licensing exam available for massage therapists. This Act also allowed thousands of massage therapists to be grandfathered into licensure without taking a massage licensing exam.
You likely fit into one of those two groups: people licensed after 2005, and those who obtained a massage license before that by being grandfathered in. The group you belong to will affect what you need to do next in order to get your Florida Massage License.
There are two processes for obtaining a Florida Massage License: endorsement and examination. Once you figure out which one you qualify for, I have provided a checklist to help guide you all the way through the licensing process.
The Examination Process
If you have completed 500 hours of massage training, but never took a board-approved exam (meaning you were most likely grandfathered), you would apply to the Florida Board of Massage as an examination candidate. Don’t let the exam keep you from continuing on as a massage professional. Many people I know, take and pass the MBLEx years after school. I suggest this MBLEx prep program.
The Endorsement Process
If you have completed 500 hours of massage training, then took a board-approved licensing examination to get your license, or took the AFTER you got your license, and have a valid Illinois massage license you would apply to the Florida Board of Massage as an endorsement candidate.
A checklist and licensing guide are included with the 10 hour laws and rules course. They help make the licensing process clear and simple.
If you have any questions about a unique situation or need something clarified, you can always email me [email protected]