After you complete ten hours of Florida massage law and rules, graduate from massage school, take your Board-Approved exam, get your license, and start working as a massage therapist, you are bound to forget the requirements for your first renewal.
Here is a refersher about those rules, plus a few recent updates:
The next renewal is August 31st, 2013.
For my first renewal, how many hours of continuing education do I need to complete?
First time renewals must complete one (1) hour of continuing education for each month or partial month from issuance of license, up to a maximum of 24 hours.
In other words…
If you got your license in September of 2012 (with twelve months remaining in the biennial period), you would need twelve (12) hours of continuing education. If you got your license in March of 2013 (with six months remaining in the biennial period), you would need six (6) hours of continuing education.
What mandatory courses do I need for my first renewal?
For your first renewal, the only course you are required to complete is two (2) hours of prevention of medical errors.
Remaining hours may include courses related to the practice of massage therapy and must be taken from Florida approved CE providers.
After this first renewal you will need:
- 2 hours of Florida Massage Law and Rules
- 2 Hours of Prevention of Medical Errors
- 2 Hours of Professional Ethics
* 1 hour of HIV/AIDS is no longer required.
How many “hands on” hours do I need for my first renewal?
For your first renewal, you are exempt from required hands-on hours.
So whether you need one or twenty-three CE hours, ALL hours may be completed in an online or home study format.
After this renewal, only twelve (12) hours of the twenty-four required (24) hours may be completed in a online/home study format. The remaining twelve (12) hours must be completed via live classroom instruction (including hands-on instruction or demonstration) and be relevant to and focus on massage therapy techniques.
ALL COURSES must be obtained through a Florida Board Approved Provider.
View courses available for First Time Renewal.
Don’t forget to grab a free, printable First Time Renewal Checklist.