2013 Changes to Florida Massage Establishment Laws

In July and August, most Florida massage licensees received a postcard from the MQA about a change to the massage establishment regulation, due to the passage of House Bill 7005. This change will affect a small minority of massage therapists. The intent of this bill was to curb illegal massage activity by (theoretically) making it […]

Steps to Renewing your Florida Massage License

Ready to renew your Florida massage license for 2013? If this is not your first renewal, have you have checked everything off this checklist? If this is your first renewal, this checklist? If you have everything done, read on and I will guide you through the process.   Here are a few items you’ll need […]

Self-Reporting Hours to CE Broker for Florida Massage Therapists

In case you haven’t heard, for the 2013 renewal, all continuing education hours need to be reported before you will be allowed to renew your Florida massage license. Today, I am going to explain who needs to self-report their hours and guide those of you that need to do this through the steps of self-reporting. […]

If I get my Florida Massage License now, will I have to renew it in August?

Chances are if you are here, you have looked around enough to know that every Florida massage therapist needs to renew their license by August, 31st of every odd year. So, you may be asking yourself: “If I get my license now, will I need to renew in just a couple of months?” Maybe you […]

Reinstating or Reactivating A Florida Massage License

I have talked to many massage therapists over the past few years who have stepped away from the massage profession, then find themselves ready to get their license back. Often they do not know where to start. To tell you the truth, reinstating a license confuses me sometimes, too. But I do have a few […]

HIV/AIDS CE for Florida Massage Professionals

Today, I am going to clear up two questions I receive about the HIV/AIDS course requirement for Florida Massage Therapists. 1. Since the 1 hour HIV/AIDS course is no longer required for license renewal, is it still required for those applying for their Florida Massage License? 2. I already have taken a 3 hour HIV/AIDS […]

Prevention of Medical Errors for Florida Massage Therapists

You can get 2 Hour Prevention of Medical Errors for only $10.00: Right Here The Florida Board of Massage requires a 2 hour Prevention of Medical Errors course for massage professionals in three situations: 1. Before obtaining a Florida Massage License 2. A Licensee’s first massage license renewal 3. Every subsequent biennial renewal period This […]

Does the Florida Board of Massage Accept the MBLEx Massage Exam?

5843577306_06fd6132f7_n

All people seeking a massage therapy license in Florida must pass a Florida Board-approved exam. This includes those graduating from massage training, completing a Board-approved apprenticeship, and massage professionals transferring to Florida. Since 2009, the Florida Board of Massage has accepted the MBLEx exam administered by the FSMTB (Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards). When […]

How To Change Your Address With The Florida Board of Massage

Something all Florida licensees are required to do is to keep a current mailing address and place of practice address with the Florida Board of Massage. Your mailing address is where any correspondence from the Board of Massage/Department of Health, your initial license, renewal notices, and where your updated/renewed license will be sent. Since displaying […]

Guide for Texas Massage Therapists Moving to Florida

For Texas massage therapists moving to Florida, the steps required to getting a Florida Massage License depend on how many hours of massage education you have. 300 hours of Training Before 2007, Texas had one of the lowest training requirements for massage therapists at 300 hours, and their own state licensing exam. 500 hours of […]